A Vacation That Changed Everything ( PART 2 )

It was past midnight and there were a few people who were still up; playing random games and scaring the hell out of everyone for it was very dark.  I tried to sleep. But with Varun snoring, I think I spent my time trying to stop him from snoring! 

While coming up the hill, to the “guesthouse”, everyone were tired and just kept to themselves. That’s when I noticed the star-filled sky. I had found tranquility in nature after a long time. It was like finding a lost part of yourself, but among the stars. You can’t have it; You can just glance at it and smile at it and be proud of where you are right now. No matter how insignificant the impact is that you’ve created in this world, that feeling you get under the stars is just pure magic.

I wanted to experience that once again. The sudden bad mood I was experiencing made me want to experience the beautiful side of nature. So I opened the door and faced the chilly winds racing against me. I had a torch in my hand and I switched it on. The torch did nothing more than illuminate the small circular patch I was pointing at. The rest was pitch black! With great courage, I stepped out, only to step on a poor, old dog which was resting on the doorstep! It barked it’s ass off and I, having gotten the others’ attention thought it would be better to go get some sleep.

So, I did. 

I tried to shake off the surreal, bad mood I was stuck in and went back to bed.

*FAST FORWARD 4 HOURS*  

It was about 4am and I woke up to Supreeth lying down right next to me. The chilly winds had taken it’s toll on everyone. Most of us woke up complaining about the extreme cold and the lack of enough sweaters. Despite all that, a few of us desperately wanted to watch the sunrise. 

Watching the sunset the previous day had changed me. So, I wanted to see what the sunrise had in store for me. So, a few of us woke everyone up and convinced the people who had given up on the sunrise agenda to go on and watch the sunrise.

And so, we went on. With torches and mobile phone torches, we lit up the pathway and walked further up the hill we were on. My fear of heights was at its peak for I was trekking right at the edge of the hill! The chilly winds got colder and the path seemed to go on and on.

We finally reached the sunrise viewing spot and fortunately there weren’t any other tourists there, yet. The sun hadn’t risen, yet.

While we waited, the view of the clouds hurling towards us was spectacular! The chilly winds weren’t chilly anymore. The chilly winds actually was a perfect part of that view we were all witnessing. And the girls, as usual, started taking pictures, posing.  

I was eagerly waiting for the sun to rise. I wanted to see what I would go through during those few moments. What promises I would make and how intense all those outbursts would be.

And then, at 6:45, we all stopped to see a red patch at the horizon and the scene fell dead silent!

“It’s rising” someone yelled behind me ( probably Sanjay 😛 ). I was at the edge, witnessing it.

DSC03247

Slowly, the red patch emerged, still at the horizon, revealing the Sun.  It wasn’t just a ball of fire anymore. It was a symbol. As I watched it emerge out of the horizon, all that I thought about the outbursts were all happening.

That overwhelming feeling of motivation and inspiration you feel when you watch a really good movie, when you listen to your mentor talk to you and make you feel more determined and secure about your life, when you talk to a friend and you feel like you can take on the world. I was feeling all that simultaneously. 

I went to Vishnu and murmured something about entrepreneurship and about how we should pursue that path for we had it in us. 

DSC03270

the ones standing are Vishnu and I, discussing about what I just mentioned.

More than I shared those few moments of the sunrise with my friends, I spent it with me. It’s funny how nature can be a good comforter and energizer more than a friend can ever hope to be. Although I spent most of my time with my friends later on, I just thought it would be logical to spend these few minutes with the Sun. 

After a tonne of pictures taken,

DSC03266

DSC03295

we all HAD to head down, back to the guesthouse. It was time to pack up and leave the hill for it was time to hit the beach 😀

Leave a Reply

